

2021 Annual General Meeting Minutes September 24, 2021

ZOOM

Attendance

Honorary Life: Keith Comstock, Murray Hidlebaugh, Linda Martin, Judy McLeod Campbell and Shelley Thoen-Chaykoski

Professional: Jennifer Burgess, Francis Cashin, Andrew Crowe, Jaclyn Davis, Dan Gallagher, Sheila Hryniuk, Chelsey Johnson, Crystal

Longman, Clint McConnell, Darcy McLeod, Rebecca Newson, Hanna Nodwell, Tara Pedersen, Anne Robins, Brennen Ronovsky, Julia Schofer, Jaime Smith-Windsor, Kimberly Willison, Bethany Dick, Lara Schroeder, Helen Meekins, Chelsea

Corrigan, Stephanie Cuddington, and Megan Jones

Associate: Jamie Helgeson

Guests: Maryn Deshcner, Danilee Doidge, Gordon Duncan, Brianna Farkas, Janai Giesbrecht, Carly Heggetad, Nicole Kennedy,

Madigan Mackay, Julia Marjoram, Tiana Mildenberger, Kate Joy Moden, Jodi Nicholson-Hachey, Dakota Schaffer, Tori Smalcel, Carmen Spalding, Cydney St. Denis, Sara Stochmal, Macy Urbaniak, Sydney Weeks, Robert Wright, Madison Polachek, Michael Hendricks, Doris Agboarumi, Morgan Gardner, Markie Daoust, Karissa Meyers, Holly Jacobson,

Cassandra Beckett, and Quinn Dewar

Staff: Guylaine Green - Chief Administrative Officer

Agenda Item	Discussion/Details	Motion #	Action
Call to Order	Vice-Chair Chantelle Erdman at 10:06am		1.00.01
Greetings and Introductions	Vice-Chair Chantelle Erdman introduced the 2020-2021 Board of Directors: Chantelle Erdman, Francis Cashin, Lara		
	Schroeder, Helen Meekins and Tara Pedersen. Vice-Chair Chantelle Erdman introduced the Staff: Guylaine Green (Chief Administrative Officer), Megan Jones (Program Manager) and Keith Comstock (Government Relations		
Explanation of Motions and Voting Procedures	Consultant). Vice-Chair Chantelle Erdman explained the virtual voting process.		
Appointment of Parliamentarian	Motion to appoint Sheila Hryniuk as Parliamentarian Anne Robins/Stephanie Cuddington Carried	2021-01	
Approval of 2021 Agenda	Motion to approve agenda as presented. Crystal Clarke/Tara Pedersen Carried	2021-02	
Approval of 2020 AGM Minutes	Motion to approve the 2020 AGM Minutes Shelley Thoen-Chaykoski/Helen Meekins Carried	2021-03	
Reports	Due to this AGM being held virtually, the Board of Directors decided not to present any reports. The Annual Report has been on the website since September 8th.		
Review and Approval of the 2020/2021 Audited Financial Statements	Francis Cashin, Finance Chair, presented highlights of the 2020/2021 Audited Financial Statements. Motion to accept the 2020/2021 Audited Financial Statements as presented.	2021-04	
	Megan Jones/Tara Pedersen Carried		
Approval of the 2021/2022 Auditor	Motion to appoint Priority Accounting Services CPA Prof. Corp. as auditor for the 2021/2022 fiscal year. Francis Cashin/Stephanie Cuddington Carried	2021-05	

Resolutions or Bylaw	No resolutions were submitted; however 2 Bylaw		
Amendments	Amendments were brought forward.		
Amenaments	Amendments were brought forward.		
	Bylaw #1:		
	WHEREAS the Saskatchewan Association of Recreation		
	Professionals Board of Directors utilizes ad-hoc committees		
	from time to time, on a temporary basis, in order to		
	complete its work; AND WHEREAS the current bylaws make		
	reference to the Association's use of standing committees,		
	but not ad-hoc committees; BE IT RESOLVED THAT the		
	following sentence is added: "The Board of Directors may		
	establish standing committees or temporary, ad-hoc		
	committees to assist in performing the work of S.A.R.P., and		
	may delegate authority to these committees.", followed by		
	the existing passage, "Standing Committees of the		
	Association shall include: a) Governance Committee; b)		
	Nominations Committee; c) Finance Committee; and d)		
	Advocacy and Research Committee." in Article V - Section 9.		
	Lara Schroeder/Helen Meekins	2021-06	
	Bylaw #2:		
`	WHEREAS Saskatchewan Association of Recreation		
	Professionals endeavour to be governed by a Board of		
	Directors that is comprised of competent and qualified		
	members in good standing, and that the Board of Directors		
	reflect the composition of S.A.R.P.'s membership; AND		
	WHEREAS the practice of accepting nominations from the		
	floor does not allow S.A.R.P.'s Nominations Committee to		
	review such expressions of interest to determine		
	candidates' suitability for the Board and candidates' good		
	standing in the organization; AND WHEREAS amendments		
	of the language would clarify the practices of the		

	organization, BE IT RESOLVED THAT "should there be a vacancy on the Board of Directors, the Board may fill the position through appointment" should replace "An expression of interest will be accepted from the floor if there are vacant Director positions following the vote. The Board of Directors will decide on the vacancy." in Article V - Section 4 - d.		
	Tara Pedersen/Helen Meekins	2021-07	
Elections of Directors	None at this time Vice-Chair Chantelle Erdman announced the 2021-2022 Board of Directors: Chantelle Erdman, Lara Schroeder, Helen Meekins, Tara Pedersen, Brennen Ronovksy and Rebecca Newson.		
Outgoing Board Members	Vice-Chair Chantelle Erdman recognized Francis Cashin as the outgoing board member and thanked him for his many years of service.		
Adjournment	Helen Meekins at 10:25am.	2021-08	

Chairperson Signature	Recording Se	cretary Signatu	ure	